RSS Feed

The Gift of Wisdom and Understanding

One of my favorite things to do in my quiet time is word studies in the Bible.  I enjoy taking a word or phrase and seeing what the Bible has to say about it and how I can apply what I find to my everyday life.  Lately, I have been intrigued by the words wisdom and understanding.  What I find amazing is how many times those words are showing up in my life through sermons, books, conversations and in places I would not imagine.  Which, for me, confirms that God is trying to teach me something.

The Bible has so much to say about wisdom and often with passages on wisdom there are also references to understanding.  The two seem to go hand in hand.  Here are just a few examples:

Proverbs 3:13 “Happy is the man that findeth wisdom, and the man that getteth understanding.”

Proverbs 3:19 “The Lord by wisdom hath founded the earth; by understanding hath he established the heavens.”

Proverbs 4:5, “Get wisdom, get understanding: forget it not; neither decline from the words of my mouth.”

Proverbs 4:7, “Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.”

Proverbs 5:1, “My son, attend unto my wisdom, and bow thine ear to my understanding.”

Proverbs 7:4, “Say unto wisdom, Thou art my sister; and call understanding thy kinswoman.”

Proverbs 8:1, “Doth not wisdom cry? and understanding put forth her voice?”

Proverbs 8:5, “O ye simple, understand wisdom: and, ye fools, be ye of an understanding heart.”

And on and on the list of verses go telling us how important wisdom and understanding are in the lives of ALL people and in ALL areas.  Relationships, finances, emotions…wisdom and understanding are key elements in having success in any area.

No where do I find that more true than in the arena of parenting.  It takes a lot of wisdom to parent effectively and understanding to see situations from our child’s point of view.

Years ago, my life was blessed to cross paths with a woman who possesses understanding and wisdom in ways I have hoped to obtain.  Sally Clarkson has become my mentor in parenting, my friend in life, and a partner in ministry and writing.  Once again, she has written a book that I feel is Holy Spirit filled and will do wonders if applied by parents who truly want to lead their children in the paths of righteousness.

Here is a link to her blog and the launching of her newest book.

http://www.itakejoy.com/10-gifts-of-wisdom-my-new-e-book-with-a-giveaway-for-you

1ogiftsifwisdom3DAnd if you hurry, you can get the book for just $.99 today only (regular price will be $4.95).  What a great gift for new moms, moms of toddlers, elementary age, and ESPECIALLY teenagers.  There is so much our children need to know before they go out into the world on their own.

Be blessed today in your parenting journey.

Renee

About hearmyheartbeat

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path, many of whom are treasured friends.

One response »

  1. That is my hearts desire to gain wisdom. I can only pray that each day I draw closer to God through his word and amazing role models like you, Sarah Mae, Sally Clarkson and Ruth Graham to keep me refreshed and encouraged I will gain wisdom. Thanks for allowing God to use you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

