RSS Feed

Sunday Morning on the Earth

Today, I took the kids to a home school Easter party which kicks off a three-day weekend of celebrating the greatest day on earth for those of us who believe that Jesus rose from the dead.  The weather was incredible, the setting was a home situated in the country where tractors roll by and neighbors wave as they pass.  The hostess, my dear friend, Jessi Lewis, was gracious and attentive to every detail.  Of course there were fresh flowers and linen-clad tables scattered across the yard.  I want to be like her when I grow up.  It was one of those days that you just need to stop for a moment to relish in and tuck deeply in your heart’s scrapbook of wonderful experiences.  It was the perfect prelude to begin readying my heart for the reflection on what Christ did for me at Calvary and sealed through His resurrection.  Easter is one of those magical days when the air seems more crisp and the world seems more alive.  Whether Christian or not, all humans seem to notice that there is something special about this day…it almost demands reverence.  Sometimes I envy those who lived in the days when Jesus walked the earth.  I mean, can you imagine being one of those ladies who went to the tomb to adorn His body with spices?  What must it have been like to see Him in the flesh?  To walk with Him and see Him grow weary from the daily grind.  To sit with Him and hear His stomach growl.  To listen to Him talk and be in awe of the wisdom just dripping from His lips.  To call Him friend and have real conversations with Him.  That must have been something.  Do you ever wander how God decides who gets to live on this earth and when?  I think about things like that.  I mean, why wasn’t I born in the days when the Bible was being lived out?  Why wasn’t I born in the days of Jane Austin?  I would have been much skinnier having to walk the English countryside!  Or, why wasn’t I among those who first settled in the American west?  The pioneer women don’t get near enough credit.  Talk about adaptability and perseverance!  Why was I born in 1967 and why am I still here?  How do I fit in God’s overall plan for the history of the earth.  I believe I have a destiny…I don’t want to miss it.  God put each of us where we are and in this time period….on purpose.

This Easter, spend a little time thinking about God’s plan for the human race.  There are so many ways He could have chosen to redeem us back to Himself.  There are so many people He could have used to carry that story of redemption to me.  In my case, I was given the wonderful news of Jesus’ birth, death, and resurrection by a man named Sam Fugate.  A simple man with an incredible heart for people.  Sam Fugate founded the Bible Baptist Church in 1972 in Hazard, Kentucky.  He believed everyone needed to know about God’s love.  He reached out to the community and brought people to church on buses and vans.  I was reached through that bus ministry when I was just 7 years old.  My life changed forever the day I climbed on that Sunday school bus.  What if Sam Fugate had not lived when he did?  Worse, what if he had not answered God’s call on his life?

What is God calling you to do and who is out there waiting to be impacted and changed in ways you can’t even understand?  Will you answer God’s calling on your life?  Will you invest in the lives of those God places in your path?  I sure want to do that.  I’m not always good at it.  I get selfishly sidetracked by life’s daily demands.  But, I want to be used to change my part of history for the Lord.  Everyday I want my husband to be a better man because of my encouragement.  I want my children to feel loved and safe and empowered to be their best.  I want my friends to have lighter hearts and deeper bonds because of their time with me.  I want strangers to feel God’s love when I cross their path.  I want God to feel adored because of my praise.  I want to inspire excellence and create beauty and share wisdom as long as God gives me breath.  I want my life to be a reflection of the grace He so amazingly imparts to me over and over and over again.

Have  a blessed Easter Sunday.

From my heart,

Renee


About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

