RSS Feed

When the Heart Overflows

Sometimes I just feel that God has been TOO good to me.  Don’t get me wrong, life has not been without trials and many heart breaks, but when I look at the family God has given me and the church where I get to serve and worship, and then the friends whose hearts are woven with mine, I just feel gratitude swelling from the chambers of my heart and hardly know how to contain the contentment.

I was blessed to be raised by parents who understood the role of training their children.  We were taught to work hard, study hard, play hard, and love hard.  We started riding a church bus to Sunday school and were blessed to be taught Christian values by people who loved the Lord and wanted to influence others  in the work of the ministry.  By the time I was 13, I was playing piano for church, visiting on Saturdays inviting others kids to ride the bus, and helping in the church office.  Looking back, I can see how the Lord prepared me as a child to serve Him throughout my life.

My grandparents were very influential in my life.  From them, I learned how to garden and cook and learned to love stories.  For hours, they would sit on the front porch in rocking chairs,  stringing green beans and peeling peaches, talking all the while about the days back when and family heirloom stories.  My childhood was rich in training and love, even though financially we struggled.  But, I’m glad we did.  I’m glad we had to work hard to go to summer camps and school trips.  They meant more that way.  I’m glad we understood what it meant to eat from the land and then to share what we had with others.

So, today my heart is just overflowing with gratitude for what God has brought me through, the people who have led me to this place in my life, and the incredible blessing of having a husband to lean on, children to hug and cherish, friends to confide in and share matters of the heart, and a church that inspires me to do more and make a difference in this world.

I hope your life is filled with good things.  If it is, pause today and thank God for what you have.  If life is not what you want it to be, then may this encourage you to make changes and fill your life with excellent people, books, music that encourages, ministry opportunities, and something to pour your time into that gives you personal satisfaction.

From my heart,

Renee

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

Leave a Reply

