RSS Feed

You Have Opened the World to Me

My parents are great role models in many areas of life, among them community service.  In 1994, my father was District 43Y Governor of the Kentucky Lions Clubs.  He shared with me a story about a man named Resvie Wheeler who had gone to Guatemala on an eye-glass missions trip with the Lions of Kentucky.  I was so moved by the stories Resvie had told of the people who received eye glasses, many of them for the first time in their lives.  I wrote a song and sang it that year at the District 43Y Convention.  That song, in some form, has been used many times over since 1994 and tonight I will sing it again at the 2010 District 43Y Convention.  Only this time, my mom is the Governor instead of my dad.  Both of my parents have been very active members of the Lions Clubs for many years.  They have inspired their 7 children to give of our time, talents, and resources to those in need.  In 1998, four years after I wrote the song, I went on my first eye-glass mission to Ukraine.  I went with my dad and that trip changed me forever.  I saw the world through “new eyes” and have never been the same. 

You Have Opened Up the World to Me 

VERSE ONE: 

I saw the world through misty eyes, and vision that was blurred. 

I listened to your speaking voice, but my speech was slurred. 

I lived my life through others eyes, yearning to see, 

Pictures that they painted. Then one day you came to me. 

CHORUS: 

And now, I see the birds and the clouds above, that used to be a dream. 

The colors of the rainbow are now so clear to me. 

I owe a debt I’ll never pay, for what you’ve given me. 

You have opened up the world to me. 

VERSE TWO: 

You didn’t have to come my way, you could have passed me by. 

The world for you was crystal clear and only misty when you cried. 

Was it fate that brought you into my life? Or, could it be, 

That God ordained the moment when you would show the world to me? 

CHORUS: 

And now, I see the birds and the clouds above, that used to be a dream. 

The colors of the rainbow are now so clear to me. 

I owe a debt I’ll never pay, for what you’ve given me. 

You have opened up the world to me. 

YOU GAVE THE WORLD TO ME! 

Who can you give the world to today?  Each day we cross paths with hurting people.  People who need a smile, a kind word, a small touch.  Give of yourself…it’s a wonderful way to live. 

That’s my heartbeat for today, 

Renee

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. Renee: I am at work today doing so catch-up and read your thoughts for today…..I am so very proud of you and your ability to touch people. I love you Nae. Keep sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

