RSS Feed

Water Drops in the Ocean

For centuries people have attempted to put into words the depth of a mothers love for her children.  Before I had my own flesh and blood off-springs, I could not begin to fathom how one heart could hold so much love for another human being.  Inspired by the childrens’ book, “Guess How Much I Love You” by Sam McBratney, my son and I have an ongoing conversation declaring the depths of our love to one another.  I tell Spencer “I love you all the way to the moon and back.”  Often his replies include: “I love you all the way to the end of the road and back, all the way to China and back, or all the way to Kentucky and back.”  Recently, we were enjoying some “snuggle” time and I asked Spencer if he knew how much I loved him.  He said, “sure mommy, you love me all the way to the moon and back.”  I then told him, “Spencer, I love you more than all the fish that are in the sea.”  In his six-year-old wisdom he said, “well mommy, I love you more than all the water drops in the ocean and no one else could love you that much.”  It was a sweet moment shared between two people who are intricately woven together with the amazing emotion we call love.  Later that day, I was reflecting on our conversation and it occurred to me that God loves me with a deeper love than I hold for my children; and that is humbling to embrace.  How does one love deeper than a mother loves?

I cannot fathom, grasp, understand, or explain the depth of love that God has for me.  To think that He knew me before I was (Jeremiah 1:5) and that I was “fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalms 139:14).”  That is astonishing to me.  Knowing that, makes me want to love Him back “as much as all the water drops in the ocean.”  He loves me when I don’t love myself as I should.  On days that I would rather hibernate in my cave of a home and hide from the outside pressures that weigh heavily on my heart, God is aware of my moods.  Those times when my children appear to have transformed into beings that are not recognizable, God understands my frustration.  In those morning hours when I haven’t had enough caffeine to like myself much less want to be with the Holy Spirit, He gives me some space.  And, when I’m not at my best, He grants me mercy and grace.

The Lord is such an incredible role model for parents!  Our children need for us to grant them understanding, mercy, acceptance, grace, and sometimes just plain-old space.  We should strive to embody traits that God embodies and share them just as generously and graciously with our children as God shares with each of us.  I love the Lord “as much as the fish in the sea” and I’m so thankful that He loves me “as much as the water drops in the ocean.”

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

5 responses »

  1. Thank you for sharing …. so beautiful and true.

    Reply
  2. Love this, Renee! You inspire me by sharing what God teaches you. :) I have thought so many times about the talk you gave at the intensive – taking things that only He can handle to Him, not anyone else.

    Love those sentences about how God loves us, understands us, and gives us space. Keep writing; God’s given you so much wisdom!!!

    Reply
  3. Nae: Beautiful! I can feel the love you have for your children as I read this passage. You are an inspiration to me. I thank God for letting me be a small part of your life. Love you my girlfriend.

    Reply
  4. Nathan McKinney

    God’s love is in such another realm and is so far beyond anything we could ever imagine! But that being said, I am so thankful for the little glimpses and shadows He gives us of His great love, and perhaps none is more poignant and impacting than the love between a parent and child.

    You capture it so well here Renee. You make me want to get home as fast as possible and look into the eyes of the ones God has given me and squeeze them close. But most of all, you have made me pause and reflect on the greatest love there is, the love of our Heavenly Father.

    Thank-you for being such an effective instrument in the hands of our Redeemer – God Bless.

    Reply
  5. Nathan McKinney

    God’s love is in such another realm and is so far beyond anything we could ever imagine! But that being said, I am so thankful for the little glimpses and shadows He gives us of His great love, and perhaps none is more poignant impacting than the love between a parent and child.

    You capture it so well here Renee. You make me want to get home as fast as possible and look into the eyes of the ones God has given me and squeeze them close. But most of all, you have made me pause and reflect on the greatest love there is, the love of our Heavenly Father.

    Thank-you for being such an effective instrument in the hands of our Redeemer – God Bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

