RSS Feed

Dance Partners

Just another musing from my heart!

Once in a while a book comes along that challenges, stirs, convicts and motivates change in us.  Currently, I am reading such a book.  Sally Clarkson has long been a heroine of mine.  As a Christian wife, mother, home school teacher, speaker and writer, I have gleaned many treasures and nuggets from the wisdom she so willingly shares.  Sally’s latest book, Dancing with my Father, has done for my heart what all of her others books have done.  I have been inspired to seek God on a deeper level in my own life.  From her title, the Lord gave me another thought that I would like to expand upon in this musing.

Dancing is one of those topics that conjure all kinds of reactions among Christian people.  There are those who believe it to be a form of worship, while others would say it is worldly and has no place in the life of a Christian.  It is not for me to say how one should feel about the subject but I would like to use the activity as a basis for talking about our relationship with God.  In dancing, there must be a leading partner if two people are involved.  If both people are trying to lead, it won’t be long before there is a stumble.  So, it is in our lives.  When God has freedom to lead knowing we will follow, the dance of our lives is beautiful and graceful.  We do not flow through life without bumps and stumbles, but we glide over those bumps with grace if the Holy Spirit is leading.  Dancing can be slow and rhythmic, have a steady cadence or be wild and reckless in tempo.  Our relationship with Christ changes in beat and cadence over the years as well.  Sometimes, we run ahead of Him and get the tempo off beat, other times we lag behind and the dance is too slow.  A nice, steady cadence is both comfortable and predictable.  That is where I want to live; at peace and in harmony with my Creator.

When you reflect over your life and your walk with God, where do you see that the cadence changed?  Can you identify a time when perhaps you took the lead away from God or ran ahead of Him?  Sometimes when things are gliding along smoothly, we tend to become a little independent and not lean as heavily on the Lord as we should.  Then, we look back to realize He is two steps behind where we left Him and we are drifting to a rhythm of our own making.  For two people to dance together without stumbles there must be a conscious effort to be aware of the partner’s moves. There should be a decision to pay attention and live in the moment and respond to the moves of the partner.  In Psalms 37:23 the Bible says, “The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord.”  The Lord is very capable of leading the dance of our lives and directing our moves.  It is we who get the cadence off-balance.

In Psalms 46:10 we read, “Be still and know that I am God.”  This verse has long been a favorite of mine.  By nature, I am quick to move and run ahead of God and this verse is a reminder to me to slow down and listen and pay attention to His leading.  Often, I must get alone and ask the Lord to quiet my heart from the noises of daily life so that I may tune in to His voice.  We live in a society that is geared for speed.  Restaurants, stores, internet sites, microwave meals, and so many other things are based on speed and convenience.  Walking with God is not based on speed or convenience.  Very often, it is the opposite.  Studying the Word of God takes time and diligence.  One thing that has helped me is in my quiet time with the Lord is to do word or topical studies.  Studying and searching the Scriptures takes more concentration that just reading and therefore, keeps my attention better than just reading alone.

It has been said, “When you can not do anything but stand alone with God, DANCE.”  Whether you like ballet or do not care for it, you would probably admit that it is a beautiful and graceful display of two people who truly trust and respond to the movements of one another.  May my daily walk with the Lord be as beautiful and graceful as an elegant ballet.  May I trust Him enough to lean on Him when I am uncertain.  May I follow His lead when the path He chooses does not look appealing to me.  May I perform my role as He has choreographed it to be so that the performance will be all He intended.

With all my heart,

Renee Parris

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. Thanks for this perspective ~ always enjoy watching couples ice skating competition, which is a form of dancing/ballet. My imagination takes over, and I’m the one being thrown and tossed about, yet always landing on my feet in some stunning way (like I could fit into those outfits). What fun to “dance” with God! Challenges me to think … a little deeper …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

