RSS Feed

Touching the Heart of God

Posted on

I attended a funeral service for a dear lady in our church that had battled with health issues for quite some time.  She was a dear and sweet Christian but was one of those ladies who fades into the crowd and lives her life quietly.  She was pleasant and friendly but in a gentle, quiet way.  As far as I know, she never taught Sunday school or held any position in the ministry.  She just faithfully filled her space on the pew and always offered a smile to those who crossed her path.

The funeral message was about the lady in Luke 2:42-48 who touched the hem of Jesus’ garment while he was passing through the streets among a throng of people.  When Jesus asked, “Who touched me?” the disciples explained that there were scores of people and that numerous people had touched him.  Yet, he knew that someone specifically and intentionally had touched the hem of his garment.  The pastor shared at the funeral how that there was something about that lady’s touch in the Bible that made the Saviour notice her.  She was no longer just one in a crowd, but an individual that touched not only his garment but his heart.  He chose to heal here then and there because of the faith she displayed in reaching out to him.

I began thinking about that and wondered if there is anything about the way I live my life that touches the heart of God?  Does my faith get the attention of a holy and almighty God?  Do my prayers stand out and rise above the noises of earth?  Do my thoughts make their way to the throne room of Heaven and contain any meditations that touch the heart of the Father?  Does my praise reach the ears of Jesus?  Does the groaning of my heart grip the Holy Spirit so that He will relay to the Father what I cannot put into words?

I want to live my life in a way that touches the heart of God.  I don’t want to just tug on his garment when I need healing or chase after him when I need help.  I want to be his constant companion.  I want to so live my life that our souls commune daily and that when I ask for help, I won’t appear as a stranger, but a familiar friend.

God chose to use mere mortal men to pen His words so that I would have a book to read as a way to get to know Him better.  He gave Jesus the responsibility of interceding on my behalf so that my prayers get to His attention.  He left the Holy Spirit to dwell in my heart as a constant source of connection with Him.  Why, with all of that at my disposal, would I not know Him intimately?  I have His words, His son, His Holy Spirit.  I have total and uninterrupted access to the God of the universe.  Communing with Him is far easier for me than for the lady in Luke chapter eight.  May I daily strive to take advantage of those opportunities to spend time with my God.

My challenge for you today is to live your life in a way that touches the heart of God and makes Heaven take notice.

From my heart,

Renee Parris

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

2 responses »

  1. Norma Johnson

    THANKS!!!

    Reply
  2. Ellen Napier

    Wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

