RSS Feed

When I was That Girl

Posted on

WHEN I WAS THAT GIRL…

I grew up modestly in houses that were simple and homes filled with love and acceptance.

I laid in the grass and imagined grand treasures hidden among the clouds.

I stood in awe under the night sky and wished upon the stars and constellations.

I dreamed of a beautiful farm-house nestled in fields of daisies and wildflowers that would blow haphazardly in the wind.

I envisioned horses galloping through the fields and sheep dotting my land with their genteel nature.

I saw chickens laying eggs that I would gather for breakfast to feed my brood of happy, healthy children.

I looked ahead and saw perfectly behaved children who would need me to nurture and guide them.

I just knew I would be met with sweet kisses and endearing words from my husband every evening.

I was confident I would be a social butterfly with dozens of girlfriends with whom I would shop and laugh.

I imagined life would be filled with BBQs, picnics in the park, lakeside chatter, afternoon Teas, and late night talks.

I knew I was created for a purpose but finding it was a mystery to me.

I loved the people in my circle as well as I knew how.

I dreamed of six little girls who would dress up and share tea parties with me.

I never imagined myself mothering a son.

I read books of grand places and my heart stirred with a wanderlust to see the world.

When I was THAT girl, I was filled with dreams and wonder!

 

NOW, THAT I AM THIS GIRL…

I live in a beautiful home surrounded by people who grant me acceptance.

I still love finding hidden treasures among the clouds.

I am as much in awe of the night sky as I have always been.

I continue to love daisies and prefer wildflowers over perfectly groomed flower beds.

I appreciate horses in other people’s pastures and love the English moors dotted with sheep.

I buy fresh eggs from the Amish couple at our local farmer’s market.

I meet everyday thankful that God trusts me enough to mother these precious, imperfect souls.

I grant my husband deep respect that comes from years of sharing life together, even when valleys were deep and vast.

I appreciate that life has given me enough trouble to realize my true, committed and abiding friends.

I treasure stolen moments of time to write, drink Tea, read a book and ponder life.

I realize that life is a GIFT given to me by a sovereign GOD for the purpose of impacting eternity.

I cherish friendships and work, often not hard enough, to passionately love the people in my circle.

I embrace the special needs of my amazing daughter, Emma Grace, who humbles me everyday.

I celebrate the uniqueness of my son, Spencer, and am continually grateful that I get to be his mommy.

I travel every chance I get and live in awe of the planet God created for me to enjoy.

Now that I am THIS Girl, I realize that I am incredibly blessed!

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

2 responses »

  1. Dianne McKinney

    You have penned your thoughts beautifully. You are so blessed!

    Reply
  2. Renee, that was beautiful. I’m honored to count you among my true friends. Be blessed, sweet one; I know you know you are! Praying for you all this morning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

