RSS Feed

Beautiful Feet

As I was getting ready for church this morning, I read this verse in a blog post and it really set my mind to work.  I wanted to share my thoughts with you.

Our son Spencer's 7-year-old feet!

Isaiah 52:7 says “How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that publisheth peace; that bringeth good tidings of good, that publisheth salvation; that saith unto Zion, Thy God reigneth!”

I began thinking about all of the pastors, preachers, missionaries, evangelists, and ministry leaders who were all preparing to stand before a congregation bringing good tidings, publishing peace and salvation and proclaiming that our God reigneth.  While we here in America were preparing to listen, folks on the other side of the world had already heard the word of God for today.

How blessed we are that God designed for us to have men proclaim His word and lead us in our walk with the Lord.  Surely, we can read the Bible for ourselves and have our own audience with the Lord through prayer, but it is an added blessing to have a man of God who has studied and prepared to deliver unto us God’s word and a challenge for the week.

God said the feet of those who proclaim His word are beautiful.  Personally, I would not declare feet to be beautiful.  But argue with the Lord? I think not!!!

I was also reminded this morning about a man in our church that purchases socks each year for the missionaries who attend our missions conference each November.  This good and godly man puts several pairs of socks in a gift bag for each missionary, as one gift of many that we as a church give to these families.  He puts a note in each bag that says something like, “I will pray for your feet as you serve the Lord.”  I think I now understand why he does that.  Perhaps he has read the same verse I read this morning.

Today, I am very thankful for the feet of those men who have led me spiritually: Sam Fugate and Richard Spencer shaped my childhood and teen years, Rex McPherson and Tom Lester led us during the first two years of our marriage, Dr. Jack Hyles and Dr. Jeff Owens formed our understanding and shared opportunities working in the ministry, and now Kevin Dail as a counselor and Dr. Rick Finley as a pastor are leading us as we raise our family.  How blessed I am and have been to be influenced by some amazing Godly men.

God please bless the beautiful feet of these servants!  Whose feet are you thankful for today?

Just pondering,

Renée Parris

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. This was a great message, Renee. I enjoyed it very much. As I think back, I can think of some great people who are in Heaven today who were a great influence in my life. One who is still living is Bro. Lonnie Graves. Had it not been for his great powerful preaching, I don’t know where I would be today. I probably would not be in church, as I grew up in a cold Methodist church where the subject of being ” saved” was never mentioned. All I had to do was to be good and I would go to Heaven. So not true!! Today Bro. Graves footsteps are getting slower, and I know he won’t be with us much longer, but to my family and me, he has always been there for us through all kinds of situations and he has become more like a Father to all of us. So we treasure all of his footsteps he has made coming to our rescue through the years….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

