RSS Feed

Weekend Giveaway and Celebration – A Gift to You

Weekend Giveaway and Celebration

It’s Friday and for many people means winding down the work-week and looking forward to weekend events and time with the family.  FAMILY…I love that word.  There is no more sacred institution than the one God created first…the family unit.  It was His plan that a husband and wife cultivate a home and marriage and bring children into the world.

What I understand about myself is that I don’t know everything I need to know to be the wife and momma that God created me to be.  God chose the children the I would mother and equipped me with what they needed but it’s up to me to cultivate and bring to harvest those attributes so that my children receive from an earthly momma what God intended for them to have.  How do I do that?  By studying God’s word and learning from other Godly women who have gone before me on this journey of motherhood.

Much of what I know about mothering I learned from my grandmother (Ninnie) and from my own mother.  I learned how to cook, clean, nurture, plant gardens, can and freeze the harvest, and to give love completely freely and unconditionally.  Am I successful in all of those areas?  Not always…I did not inherit the Martha Stewart gene for cleaning!!!  LOL

Spiritually, I needed to learn more about God’s role for mothers and how to practically apply God’s truths in our home and write God’s words upon the hearts of my children.  Nine years ago, Memorial Day weekend in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, Sally Clarkson entered my world and changed my view of Biblical motherhood.  She became my Titus 2 mentor in this area of life.  I had no idea at the time, how much her life and wisdom would impact my life and the lives of my children.

At that conference, Sally spoke about “touching your child’s heart for eternity.”  I was captivated, convicted, and convinced that I needed to learn so much more from this Godly women.  I have become a student of Clay and Sally Clarkson.  I own every book they have written, attend conferences at every opportunity and have been privileged to spend a weekend at the home in Colorado learning to be a more effective writer and speaker.

God has worked in amazing ways and now all these years later, Sally has gone from being a woman on a stage that I admired to being a dear, personal friend and friend.  Months ago, Clay and Sally began working on creating a new blog that would serve as a place for moms who are searching for encouragement, advice, and practical ways to reach their children’s hearts for eternity.  They enlisted the help of two of my amazing friends, Kristen Kill and Misty Krasawski and now the dream is a reality!!!

Blog address: www.momheart.org

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/MomHeartOnline

Facebook page is MomHeart: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mom-Heart/277016095700479

To celebrate the launch of the Mom Heart blog, I am giving away one of Sally Clarkson’s books.  All you have to do to enter is leave a comment below.  The winner will be selected on Saturday night!!!  Your choices include: Mission of Motherhood, Ministry of Motherhood, Seasons of a Mothers Heart, or Dancing with my Father.  Any of these books will be a tremendous blessing to you or any mother you know.

Just leave a comment and let me know which book you would like to receive if you are the selected winner.

Blessings to you as you begin your weekend,

Renee

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

5 responses »

  1. Hey Renee! I love reading you blog! I am always inspired to become a better wife and mommy! Love ya!! :)

    Reply
  2. Renee, thank you for being part of the new website the Clarkson’s have put together! I’m so excited about it and really looking forward to seeing how it develops. What a blessing to know Sally in person! She’s still the “woman on a stage that I admire” for me ;-)
    I’m enjoying seeing all the new-to-me blogs that I’m discovering through momheart!

    I’m blessed to already own some of Sally’s books, but the next one I hope to get a copy of is “Dancing with My Father” – and “Season’s of a Mother’s Heart” after that! She has so much wisdom to share.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the wonderful beginning to my weekend. God gave me two children and some of the time I did what “I” thought God would want me to do to help them grow to become a Christian God fearing man and woman. They are grown up now and God has given me the opportunity to be Mom to my grandson. I am still learning to be the type of Mom God wants me to be and I am so thankful that He chose me for this rewarding task. Biblical motherhood is what I am striving for this time around and I enjoy reading helpful books on this subject. I spend a lot of time talking things over with God and I also spend time with Godly mothers as often as I get the opportunity. For whatever reason God gave me this task again this late in my life, I plan to do everything I can to help fulfill His plan for this child.

    Reply
  4. You are always an inspiration! I keep copies of your “Hear my Heartbeat” blogs to read occasionally. It’s amazing to realize that God is NEVER finished with us ~ no matter how old we get! Thanks for bearing your heart and soul in words so others can learn and be encouraged and inspired. I’m so glad you are (still) part of my life!!! So very, VERY proud of you, my friend.

    Reply
  5. I am so amazed at how well you speak your heart. I got “gooses” when I read your post today. I didn’t have the upbringing that you did for most of your life…..I never learned to cook, clean, sew, or anything of that nature from my mom but I did learn to love my children unconditionally from her. She was sick (as you know) for most of my life but I saw such love in her eyes when she would look at my Brianna and call her Ellie……and I knew that my mommy loved me. That meant so much to me….. I am thankful for so many women who have helped shape my life (Mom Linda, Oma, Wanda Faye and a young girl who has grown up to be such an amazing woman named “Nae”. I love you and am so proud of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

