RSS Feed

A Place for Parents with Hurting Hearts

Emma’s Legacy – A Place for Parents with Hurting Hearts

Many of you may never meet our daughter, Emma Grace.  But she is the reason you are here.   Without her life and story, God may have never allowed us the opportunity to engage this ministry to parents with hurting hearts.

Just before her Spinal Fusion surgery due to scoliosis.

What we learned very quickly as parents is that everyone needs a place to safely fall when life becomes painful.  There are many things that can cause pain to a parent’s heart.  Sometimes it begins with infertility and the desire to have a family.  Sometimes it comes with a premature birth and an uncharted course.  Sometimes it comes with a sudden diagnosis or death.  Perhaps it comes as a result of bad choices made by parents or their children.  Either way, moments of pain, hurt, frustration, questions, confusion and disheartenment do eventually come to all parents.

Yet, on that same journey that brings pain, there is also, love, grace, mercy, peace, calmness, gratitude and immense moments of joy.

Often it’s tricky to find the balance.  That’s why we are here.  To offer encouragement and perspective when yours may be gone or hidden behind clouds.  This blog is just one more layer in the support system for those in need.

Sometimes being a writer is a double-edged sword.  Loving the written word and the arranging of sentences offers such a wide and vast landscape on which to paint images and stories.  Harnessing those stories and finding a niche is often a painful process of its own.  I have used this blog space for many things including my own personal ramblings, a journal of sorts, a place to shine light on those I love, a garden to plant words of encouragement to others and above all, a platform to shout my praises to God for His unimaginable outpouring of blessings on my life.

Seeking His mind, and searching my heart I’m convinced more than ever that God is leading us to specifically encourage other parents, especially those who are hurting or struggling in a particular season of parenthood.  So, over the next few weeks I will be devoting time to restructuring this blog space to target those parents.  For sure, I will continue to use this platform for the reasons stated above, but I do so long to be of help and encouragement to other parents.

My husband Mike and I, as parents, are a work in progress just like all parents.  Only Heaven will reveal how much of this parenting thing any of us even fully understood much less were successful at living out in daily life.  Mike and I do not pretend to be experts but we have a lot of experience.  Through our own six pregnancies and the dozens of foster children who have lived in our home, we have had opportunity to encounter many different scenarios that have helped shape our view of parenting.  Mostly our experiences have revealed that we are absolute failures outside of the wisdom and grace of God.

We want to encourage parents whose children have:

Physical handicaps or limitations

Emotional and/or Behavioral Problems

Chronic Health Conditions

Learning Disorders

Terminal Illness

And Parents who struggle with:

Infertility Issues

Miscarriage

Premature Birth

Stillborn Death

Loss of any age

Wayward Children

Death of a dream for your children

These are the things that can tear at the heartstrings of parents.  And while we may not have any answers or know specifically where to refer you for help, we will surround you with love and prayers and words of encouragement on your journey.

My mind is open and my heart is full of ideas.  Yet I would be so honored to hear your input.  Perhaps you are a parent who has been at a painful place or are in the midst of one now.  Maybe you know parents who struggle with issues ranging from healthcare situations to discipline questions or just looking for ways to capture their children’s hearts.  Any thoughts you could share on topics that you would like to see covered would be so appreciated.

Please feel free to subscribe to our email feed, “Like” our Facebook page, share our status with others who may benefit, or send me a private message or comment if there is something on your heart too personal to share publicly.

Above all, please join us in praying as we seek to be of help to those who are hurting.  Currently we are nearing the first draft of a booklet that we hope God will use to encourage parents. “Let’s Celebrate – A Family’s Journey through Grief and Affliction” is based on Emma’s life.  Already we are working on another booklet based strictly on the process and journey of grief and the death of a child.  Both of these booklets will be used as tools to reach out to hurting parents.

Blessings to you,

Renée Parris

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

7 responses »

  1. I seem to ride the rollercoaster of doubt and faith. Each day I struggle to live in the joy but fail miserably. :( Thank you for your words…..I so wish I had someone who has or is walking my path to have coffee with once a month just to connect, encourage and vent with. I know when I am weak He is strong and I cling to that truth moment by moment.

    Reply
  2. Very nice use of the words. Love.

    Reply
  3. This is beautiful and I love your heart. I wish someone had come alongside me to address behavioral struggles when I was a younger mom. The loudest voices were strident admonitions to “train” aka discipline the heck out of children who misbehaved without any grace and without examining the possibility that misbehavior could be caused by anything but a big fat strong will. It was a long and painful journey before I came to a place of peace and grace in my mothering. God has done such healing and work just in the past year and I am so thankful! So I encourage you to keep reaching out! There are moms who need to hear what you have to say! Even if your platform is small, God will use your willingness in the lives of hurting families!

    Reply
  4. Kristi Faith Bailey

    Thank you my dear friend for reminding me that God does see my hurts and tears , And it is a big deal to him.I am now going through a season of The loss of a dream for my Children. Some days the pain seems to much to bare, But i am so glad that i serve a God who knows every need that i have and is always there for me.And i would encourage others to feel the pain that you are going through and let God heal your broken heart and he will. Kristi Faith Bailey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

