RSS Feed

I’m over at MomHeart Today

I’m guest blogging today over at MomHeart.org

http://www.momheart.org

Here is a tad-bit of what I shared there.  Go there to see the full article.

Traditions are Made in the Trenches

June 22, 2012

Traditions are those things quietly being written on our hearts while we are busy in the trenches of everyday life.

The Saturday morning family breakfasts, the nightly bedtime stories, the phrases of admonition or encouragement we impart on a daily basis.  Those are the things our family members will carry with them out into the world.

Tradition as defined by Webster includes the following: “an inherited pattern of thought or action, a specific practice of long standing, and the act of delivering into the hands of another.”

Sometimes we can mistake “events” for “traditions.”  We work to create these huge magical moments. All year long we can see ourselves going from one holiday to the next, with decorations, food, festivities, activities, etc.  We can get so caught up in the doing of the activities that we miss them completely in spirit.  Oh, for sure our children will remember the birthday bash, the special service in their honor, but it’s the little, daily, no-fuss things that they will treasure about their family and the home they shared with us for the first two decades of their lives.

— There are some great pics of my family included with the article.  So go on over to http://www.momheart.org to read the rest.

— MomHeart.org is a blog created by my dear friend Sally Clarkson.  I have an article there at least once a month.  You can subscribe to that website as well to be sure to get notifications of my postings on that site.  It is a wonderful website for anyone to read, but especially moms.

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

Leave a Reply

