RSS Feed

Saturday Sabbaticals

There is something unique about Saturdays.  In most homes, life slows down a bit and is more relaxed.  Although the day may be filled with activities, it is still a variation of the norm for most.  Yards get mowed, errands ran, projects worked on, meals prepared, clothes laundered, and rooms tidied.  In ministry, preparations are made for Sunday services, last minute calls and visits of invitation made.

In our home, Mike usually prepares a big breakfast for us and then we just do a whole lot of nothing!!  Today is quite different though.  Mike and Spencer (and his buddy Camden) are off to a Cub Scout clean up at Eno River State Park in Durham, NC.  Michelle (our nanny bear) is out of town, and so Emma and I slept late, had coffee together, and the only sound I hear now is her crunching popcorn and the click of my computer keyboard.  Oh, and the purring of these kittens that I am still trying to convince myself to like.

Sunday is my absolute favorite day of the week.  I love going to church and hearing music and sermons and shaking the hands of people I treasure dearly.  But, in my soul, Saturdays are the day that I feel most at peace.  The day that is quiet and restful.

Blessings to you whatever this Saturday finds you doing.  What are some of your Saturday traditions?  Please leave a comment below and share what is unique about Saturdays in your world.

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. My Saturdays consists of visiting on my bus route with Samantha Jo Fugate. We have a 12 passenger van and this past Sunday we had 16 ride our bus. Praise the Lord! Two of the 12 got Saved “To God be the Glory”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

