RSS Feed

New Mercies

 by Renee Parris

Sometimes I want to push reset and start my day over again. Mornings when everything seems to go wrong and frustration peaks before the sun fully does. I doubt any of us wake up wanting or intending for the day to run amuck. Yet, often it happens.

Recently, I found myself having one of those days. I was agitated for no reason that I could justify. My son, who is normally very calm and compliant, seemed to just be louder and more active that day. Mind you, his highest level of activity is calmer than most boys, so I should not have a need to complain and yet I was doing just that. Finally, I found myself snap at him over something that did not deserve a sharp retort.

I watched as his precious little face registered shock and hurt and his 8-year old mind tried to understand what he had done wrong to unleash my unhappiness. I have many shortcomings but being a “screamer” is not typically one of them. It is a very rare thing for me to raise my voice. Yet I can be quietly abrupt and still hurt his precious heart. My daughter who is a 13 year old, special needs child,can push all the right buttons and have me in tears before either of us know what is happening.

As soon as I snapped at our son that morning, I knew I had failed. In fact I knew I was wrong before the words left my heart and made their way to my tongue. Deflated, with shoulder drooped, he walked away and I cried.

The Holy Spirit is my favorite person. I just love how He works in my life. Good or bad, right or wrong, happy or sad, He always finds a way to bring to mind Scripture that is exactly what I need.

FOR THE FULL ARTICLE, PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK TO MOM HEART ONLINE…
About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

Leave a Reply

