RSS Feed

God Hurt My Feelings

This may be the most honest and transparent blog post I’ve ever written and I shared it at momheart.org today.

God Hurt My Feelings

April 2, 2013 by 

4293259391_473bbd554c_o

When I was in charge of the dream, back before it was a reality, life was perfect.

I was minding my own business, living out my agenda and then…

God’s decision slammed into my day altering my reality and my feelings were very hurt.

I love Him, I trust His sovereignty but there are weak, fleeting moments when I am not sure I like Him.

He makes choices without consulting me. He does not even ask my opinion much less, it seems, take it into consideration. He hurts my feelings on a regular basis and I tell Him when He does. I sure take Him up on His words in 1 Peter 5:7 when He said, “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” I just happen to believe that “all your care” includes hurt feelings and disappointments.

David, who was a man after God’s own heart, tells us in Psalms 42:3-4, “My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God? When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me.” David certainly told God when he was disappointed, in despair, discouraged and despondent.

I pour out my heart to God often. Oh, I have my times of praise and worship. I have scheduled sessions of thanksgiving and ways of expressing gratitude. But sometimes when I am just downright annoyed with Him, well, I tell Him that as well.

To read the rest of the article, click on the link below to go over to Mom Heart…

http://www.momheart.org/2013/04/god-hurt-my-feelings/

Thank you for “hearing my heartbeat.”  Your friendship and support means so much to me.

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

4 responses »

  1. nathanmckinney

    Great thoughts here Renee.  Such a reflection of the Psalms several of which are the cries of a broken, even disillusioned songwriter.  Thank-you for your honesty and encouragement.  Thank-you most of all for turning the focus onto the greatness of our almighty God who is big enough to hear our complaints while also loving us and transforming us in the midst of them.  What an incredible God   Nathan L. McKinney

    ________________________________

    Reply
  2. Renee…..you’re an amazing lady. I really appreciate your post. My daughter would have been 30 yesterday. She’s been gone 14 years but that doesn’t change how much i miss here. My greatest consolation is that every year is one year closer to the time I will see here again. GOD bless you and your ministry to the grieving.

    Reply
    • Marilyn, thank you for your kind words. I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your daughter. I have known no deeper pain than the loss of a child. I think it is the closest we will ever be to understanding the sacrifice God made for us when He watched Jesus die. Birthdays and anniversaries of death are tough…praying for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

