RSS Feed

A Heart for Missions

This week may well be my favorite week of the year.  The first week of each November is Missions Conference at our church.  It is an exciting event and one that holds very special meaning to me personally.  Since I was a very young girl, I have loved missionaries and the concept of missions and humanitarian work.  I’ve shared the story before of my first encounter with a missionary family and how God used that to place a seed in my heart for world missions.

I wish I could share, in this tiny corner of the cyber world, about the many places God has allowed us to go over the years and the people we have met through the framework of missions.

Today begins another week of meeting three new missionary families and reuniting with yet another, to learn more about how we as a family and a church can partner with them to touch people around the globe that we may never meet in person.  In most cases, we will not be the hands and feet that carry the Gospel of Jesus Christ to Chile, Thailand, Brazil and South Korea.  We will not see the faces of those who will hear about God for the first time in those lands.  The people who will be helped physically and emotionally through the efforts of these 4 missionary families will never know that we, here in America, are loving them vicariously through the families who are on their journeys to those people groups now.

To me, that is what excites me the most.  To know that I, anonymously and behind the scenes, am touching thousands and thousands of people every single day through the prayers I pray for missionaries, the money I give every single month and the gifts we send abroad.  How exciting is that?!?!

Everyday I have the opportunity to touch people’s lives for eternity!

To know that I am secretly working with God to touch people’s lives…It is an adrenaline rush like no other to me.  I love giving gifts.  I love meeting needs.  And I understand and don’t mind when it has to be done publicly as in a birthday or Christmas gift, but to me, there is no funner way to give than when only God and I know how we together are touching someone.

Try it sometime.  Ask God to “share” a need with you that you and He can meet together.  Perhaps it won’t be through world missions.  Maybe it will be giving an anonymous gift card for gas or food or to a restaurant to a family in need.  Maybe God will nudge you to help a widow, a single mom, a man who has lost his job, a family who needs a helping hand…whatever it is, when you silently and quietly partner with God to be His hands and feet, there is a satisfaction that He gives that is better than all the public accolades man can bestow.

I’m off to begin the busyness of a week I have anticipated all year.

Blessings today,

Renee

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

Leave a Reply

