RSS Feed

WAIT…In the Busyness

Posted on

When life gets unusually busy and too many days in a row are hectic, I find myself stressing more and becoming short with those I love the most.  Why is that?  The people who share our homes and in many cases our names with are the ones we love most in life.  Yet those very people are on the receiving end of so many of our flaws.

We can’t hide the real us when we are in close proximity to the same people much of the time.   I have found I must intentionally wait to speak in order to protect the spirit of those whom I love.  Our words can fly quickly but are impossible to retract.  This is a daily struggle for most of us if we are honest with ourselves.

My go-to verse in so many instances is Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.”  If I can just be still and wait, I am reminded that He is God and in control and that so much of what I stress about is insignificant.

photo (5)This week as I prepare to host the 10th annual Ladies Tea & Luncheon at our church I will remind myself often to be still and wait.  This event began a decade ago as a way to raise money for our missions program.  We set up, serve, decorate, and host approximately 140 ladies and girls who gather to enjoy an afternoon of Tea, Fellowship, Fun, Music and all things lovely.

It is a highlight of my year and I plan and prepare with anticipation of sharing grace with these ladies.  How silly would it be for me to allow such a gracious event to bring out unkind words or unpleasant experiences for those who work along side of me.  So, this week I will be quoting Psalms 46:10 often and asking God to remind me to wait in the busyness of life.

Blessings to you in your busy life as well.

Renee

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. You are so right! Thank you for telling me someone else struggles with this too! Thank you for reminding me of Psalm 46:10. What a lovely idea to have a ladies tea. I hope all goes as you planned, but if it doesn’t you will have peace through it all. God Bless!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

