RSS Feed

The Gift of Peace

Peace.  Such a beautiful word.

Growing up in the mountains, it seemed we were never far from a creek or stream that flowed down through the crevices of the hills.  Shaded by trees and flowing through the forest floors, these streams were like havens and secret places that provided hours of childhood play.  The music of the water rushing downward filled the air.  It was peaceful and serene.

When storms came and the streams filled with more water, the sounds grew stronger and lovelier.  The rain somehow brought peace.  It washed away debris and left beautiful music behind.  The storms brought peace.

Peace is something that is difficult to explain but when experienced, it is amazing.  It keeps the heart calm and the spirit even.

Great peaceWhen life gets hectic and schedules seem too full, we long for peace…a rest for the soul.

Lately, it seems, the news has been filled with many stories that can evoke fear, worry, uncertainty, and panic if a person chooses to dwell on them for an extended period of time.  I have found that my spirit can only handle so much of the news.  I’m not sure if there is more evil in the world now than in previous times, or if it just that we are privy to more of it through the air waves and media outlets than previous generations.  We can read historical accounts of atrocities that have taken place in our world but typically only those experiencing them would know of them in real time.  Today, we can know in minutes of tragedies that occur halfway around the globe from our homes.

I ponder that and wonder if God ever intended for our spirits to bear that much negativity.  It’s no wonder that suicide, depression, and anxiety are on the rise.  We have more modern convenience than any previous generation yet we are unhappy.  Why is that?  We ponder too much on worry instead of peace.

The Bible has much to say about peace.  In fact 420 times, the word peace is mentioned in Scripture.  One of my favorite verses is Psalms 29:11 “The Lord will give strength unto his people; the Lord will bless his people with peace.”

Peace is a blessing for sure.  And when my soul is weary, my spirit heavy, and my mind filled with worry, I remind myself that God will bless me with peace.

What is troubling your soul today?  Regret, disappointment, betrayal, grief, fear?  Rest in knowing that God longs to bless you with peace.  After the storm, peace will arrive…during the storm, focus on the sounds of water rushing and know that peace is on the way.

A burden is heavy to bear alone.  That same burden transferred to the hands of God becomes light and peaceful.  It is a waste of effort for us to bear a burden that God is so wiling to bear for us.  Many are the times that I pour out my soul to the Lord and ask Him to carry my burden and grant me peace.

He longs to do the same for you, my friend.

Renee Parris

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

One response »

  1. Absolutely Beautiful!!!!

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

