RSS Feed

The Beautiful Gift of Prayer

When life looms before us like a majestic mountain and daily tasks seem insurmountable.

When heartbreak finds its way into our souls or relationships are less than we had hoped they would be.

When grief calls or illness visits or just when a day can be too full and the heart is overwhelmed.

Any of these can be a cause for needing someone to whisper our name to Jesus.  Then Jesus whispers our name to the Father.  Soon, all of Heaven is on our side.  Praying for us.  Cheering us on.

Whispered Your Name

One of the greatest things we can do for one another is to pray.  The opportunity to go before the holy throne of God on behalf of another.  It might be God’s most gracious gifts to us aside from salvation.

The Bible speaks much of prayer.  So many examples of God listening to the prayers of His people on behalf of one another.  Even Jesus asked for prayer when He walked on earth’s soil and felt the burden of His destiny before Him.  He wanted His disciples praying with Him and being in His presence when He cried out to His Father.

Prayer binds the hearts together in a mysterious way.  I’m convinced we can learn more about each others’ hearts by listening to how someone prays than by having a thousand conversations.  Listening to someone speak to Jesus reveals much about their relationship with Him.

In Esther 4:16, Esther asked for her people to fast and pray three days for her…she knew what she had to do and she recognized her need for prayer warriors and for God to grant the request of many for her to be brave and for the heart of the king to be soft toward her.

Often we face life alone because we are too embarrassed to ask for prayer – for what would others think if they knew we didn’t have it all together? Or we don’t recognize the power of having people pray for us. Perhaps we think we can scale the mountains on our own.

Many, many have been the times I’ve begged others to pray for me. I know God answers prayers for I have witnessed it multitudes of times in my own life.  I’ve watched Him perform miracles for which there were no earthly explanations.  I’ve seen Him show up in the midnight hours and comfort as only He can.  He works like that, you know!  He comes in still and quiet and mends, heals, restores, slides mountains out of the way, and leaves us speechless.  Takes our breath away!

What a gift to bestow on those around us.  To take their requests, their needs, their petitions to God on their behalf.

To all who have whispered my name to the Father…thank you!  It is your greatest display of love to me.

And to my readers, may I declare, if you’ve got a need, I’m in your corner! I will take your requests to the Father for you. I’m always a message or a text away!

What if we all pledge to be prayer warriors for one another?!  What if we decide to not just talk and share our needs with one another but to talk to God on behalf of one another.  To really pray when we say we will.  How often do we casually say, “I’ll be praying for you.”  But then, we forget or just fail to do so.  May we be true to our word and mention the names of others to Jesus.  May we ask that God really grant the comfort, healing, or help that our friends and family need.

God is gracious.  He does hear and will answer.  Perhaps not exactly as we request, for His ways are so much higher than ours and He knows what is best.  But I truly believe how and when He answers has much to do with who and how often those requests are made known.

Esther recognized her need for support and she understood the power of prayer and fasting. What an example. I’m so glad God chose to share her story with us in His Word.

May we gift the beautiful gift of prayer to those around us.

About Renee Parris

I write to share the message of grace God has so generously splattered on the pages of my life. My heart beats strongly with love for my husband, children, and those God has placed in my path. I adore the world God has created for us to explore. My heart beats to share, through written words and pictures, my love for nature and the people I meet on this beautiful journey called life.

2 responses »

  1. I love this! I tried to comment the other day and my phone said no three times! I think God just wanted me to read it multiple times! Can I print it to send to my Mom and Dad?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

